Join Our Catchment Area Council

Annual Dinner 2016

Schedule of Catchment Area Council Meetings 2017-18

Interested in sharing your story and shaping the mental health system in CT? Join us!


A catchment area is a defined geographic area, based on population, that receives mental health services as a unit. The Catchment Area Council (CAC) is a citizen body and is the grassroots level of citizen involvement in planning for needed services. The role of the CAC is to study and evaluate existing mental health services in the catchment area and to make recommendations about the types of services that are needed. All findings are regularly reported to the Connecticut Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services (DMHAS).

Click this to find out more and to apply for CAC Membership: Facts About CACs

There are 37 towns in Region IV served by the North Central Regional Mental Health Board. Each town is represented by a Catchment Area Council (CAC). By statute, all town representatives are consumers (not employed as mental health professionals or by agencies offering mental health services). The town representatives are appointed by the first selectman, mayor, or governing official of the town. The town representatives in each CAC select other consumers as well as providers (people employed to provide behavioral health services) to serve on the CACs.

The CACs and Boards seek members who have the experience to carry out the responsibilities and activities outlined. The CACs value consumer members who have experience with a behavioral health disorder themselves, their family members, and concerned citizens.

List of CACs by Towns

CAC 23: 
City of Hartford 

CAC 19: 
Berlin, Bristol, Burlington, New Britain, Plainville, Plymouth and Southington

CAC 18: 
Avon, Canton, Farmington, Simsbury and West Hartford 

CAC 17: 
Bloomfield, East Granby, East Windsor, Enfield, Granby, Somers, Stafford, Suffield, Windsor and Windsor Locks  

CAC 16: 
East Hartford, Glastonbury, Marlborough, Newington, Rocky Hill and Wethersfield

CAC 15: 
Andover, Bolton, Ellington, Hebron, Manchester, South Windsor, Tolland and Vernon